The Capability Maturity Model

A standardized framework for assessing the organization’s information system development and management processes and products.

This is the formal definition of the Capability Maturity Model which is often abbreviated as CMM. Often we can see that an organizations development process maturity, project timelines and cost decreases with the increase in productivity and quality. It happens most time.  So after observing and measuring this factor, the Software Engineering Institute at Carnegie Mellon University has developed the Model which is known as Capability Maturity Model. This model is organized in such a way that it has 5 maturity levels, which are given as below:

  • Level 1: Initial
  • Level 2: Repeatable
  • Level 3: Defined
  • Level 4: Managed
  • Level 5: Optimized

As seen in the figure below, we can see the product and capability as the level increases and the risks too. All the levels have their own capability as we can see the picture below. The risks are too much in the level 1 i.e. while initiating, and as the level rises up the risks and waste also gets on decreasing while the productivity and quality gets on increasing as the level rises up with decreasing the risks.


Source :

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

How to whitelist website on AdBlocker?

How to whitelist website on AdBlocker?

  1. 1 Click on the AdBlock Plus icon on the top right corner of your browser
  2. 2 Click on "Enabled on this site" from the AdBlock Plus option
  3. 3 Refresh the page and start browsing the site
%d bloggers like this: